Oscars 2021 – full list of 93rd Academy Awards winners

Hi Film Folk!

The Oscars 2021 took place at Union Station in Los Angeles, California with many of the nominees in attendance for the covid-secure ceremony and Questlove directing the music for the evening.

Nomadland took the most awards by a slim margin with three gongs, followed by Sound of Metal, Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom, Soul, Mank, The Father and Judas and the Black Messiah with two apiece.

Minari, Another Round, Tenet and Promising Young Woman all took home one award each.

The Oscars 2021 winners list is as follows:

Best Production Design
The Father – Peter Francis, Cathy Featherstone
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom –
Mark Ricker, Karen O’Hara, Diana Stoughton
Mank –
Donald Graham Burt, Jan Pascale – WINNER!
News of the World –
David Crenk, Elizabeth Keenan
Tenet –
Nathan Crowley, Kathy Lucas

Best Sound
Greyhound – Warren Shaw, Michael Minkler, Beau Borders, David Wyman
Mank –
Ren Klyce, Jeremy Molod, David Parker, Nathan Nance, Drew Kunin
News of the World –
Oliver Tarney, Mike Prestwood Smith, William Miller, John Pritchett
Soul –
Ren Klyce, Coya Elliott, David Parker
Sound of Metal –
Nicolas Becker, Jaime Bakshy, Michelle Couttolenc, Carlos Cortés, Phillip Bladh – WINNER!

Best Costume Design
Emma – Alexandra Byrne
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
– Ann Roth – WINNER!
– Trish Summerville
– Bina Daigeler
Pinocchio –
Massimo Cantini Parrini

Best Animated Short
Genius Loci
If Anything Happens I Love You – WINNER!

Best Documentary Short
Colette – WINNER!
A Concerto Is a Conversation
Do Not Split
Hunger Ward
A Love Song for Latasha

Best Live Action Short
Feeling Through
The Letter Room
The Present
Two Distant Strangers – WINNER!
White Eye

Best Make Up & Hair
Emma – Marese Langan, Laura Allen, Claudia Stolze
Hillbilly Elegy –
Eryn Krueger Mekash, Matthew Mungle, Patricia Dehaney
Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom –
Sergio Lopez-Rivera, Mia Neal, Jamika Wilson – WINNER!
Mank –
Gigi Williams, Kimberley Spitero, Colleen LaBaff
Pinocchio –
Mark Coulier, Dalia Colli, Francesco Pegoretti

Best Original Song
“Husavik” (Eurovision Song Contest: The Story of Fire Saga)
“Fight For You” (Judas and the Black Messiah) – WINNER!
“Io Sì (Seen)” (The Life Ahead (La Vita Davanti a Se))
“Speak Now” (One Night in Miami…)
“Hear My Voice” (The Trial of the Chicago 7)

Best Original Score
Da 5 Bloods –
Terence Blanchard
Mank –
Trent Reznor
Minari –
Emile Mosseri
News of the World –
James Newton
Soul –
Trent Reznor, Atticus Ross, Jon Batiste – WINNER!

Best Editing
The Father – Yorgos Lamprinos
– Chloé Zhao
Promising Young Woman – Frédéric Thoraval
Sound of Metal –
Mikkel E. G. Nielsen – WINNER!
The Trial of the Chicago 7 –
Alan Baumgarten

Best Cinematography
Judas and the Black Messiah – Sean Bobbitt
Mank –
Erik Messerschmidt – WINNER!
News of the World –
Dariusz Wolski
Nomadland –
Joshua James Richards
The Trial of the Chicago 7 –
Phedon Papamichael

Best Original Screenplay
Judas and the Black Messiah – Will Berson, Shaka King, Kenny Lucas, Keith Lucas
– Lee Isaac Chung
Promising Young Woman
– Emerald Fennell – WINNER!
Sound of Metal
– Darius Marder, Abraham Marder, Derek Cianfrance
The Trial of the Chicago 7
– Aaron Sorkin

Best Adapted Screenplay
Borat Subsequent Moviefilm – Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Dan Swimer, Peter Baynham, Erica Rivinoja, Dan Mazer, Jena Friedman, Lee Kern and Nina Pedrad 
The Father –
Christopher Hampton, Florian Zeller – WINNER!
Nomadland –
Chloé Zhao
One Night In Miami…
– Kemp Powers
The White Tiger
– Ramin Bahrani

Best Documentary
Crip Camp
My Octopus Teacher – WINNER!

Best International Feature Film 
Quo Vadis, Aida? (Bosnia and Herzegovina)
Another Round (Denmark) – WINNER!
Better Days (Hong Kong)
Collective (Romania)
The Man Who Sold His Skin (Tunisia)

Best Animated Film
Over the Moon
Shaun the Sheep: Farmageddon
Soul – WINNER!

Best Special Visual Effects
Love and Monsters –
Matt Sloan, Genevieve Camilleri, Matt Everitt, Brian Cox
The Midnight Sky –
Matthew Kasmir, Christopher Lawrence, Max Solomon, David Watkins
Mulan –
Sean Faden, Anders Langlands, Seth Mairy, Steve Ingram
The One and Only Ivan –
Nick Davis, Greg Fisher, Ben Jones, Santiago Colomo Martinez
Tenet –
Andrew Jackson, David Lee, Andrew Lockley, Scott Fisher – WINNER!

Supporting Actor
Sacha Baron Cohen – The Trial of the Chicago 7
Daniel Kaluuya – Judas and the Black Messiah – WINNER!
Leslie Odom Jr. – One Night In Miami
Paul Raci – The Sound of Metal
LaKeith Stanfield – Judas and the Black Messiah

Supporting Actress
Mari Bakalova – Borat Subsequent Moviefilm
Glenn Close – Hilbilly Elegy
Olivia Colman – The Father
Youn Yuh-jung – Minari – WINNER!
Amanda Seyfried –Mank

Best Actor
Riz Ahmed – Sound of Metal
Chadwick Boseman – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Anthony Hopkins – The Father – WINNER!
Gary Oldman – Mank
Steven Yeun – Minari

Best Actress
Viola Davis – Ma Rainey’s Black Bottom
Andra Day – The United States Vs. Billie Holiday
Vanessa Kirby – Pieces of a Woman
Frances McDormand – Nomadland – WINNER!
Carey Mulligan – Promising Young Woman

Best Director
Thomas Vinterburg – Another Round
David Fincher – Mank
Lee Isaac Chung – Minari
Chloe Zhao – Nomadland – WINNER!
Emerald Fennell – Promising Young Woman

Best Picture 
The Father
Judas and the Black Messiah
Nomadland – WINNER!
Promising Young Woman
Sound of Metal
The Trial of the Chicago 7

The BAFTA Film awards 2021 were announced last week and the full list of nominees can be found here.

Join us on FACEBOOK or TWITTER and sign up to our emails on the right hand side for articles straight to your inbox.

Any questions/thoughts/experiences of your own??? Leave a comment below!
Have a great week!
Check out our previous CASE STUDIES
Check out our SERVICES


Leave a Reply

You have successfully subscribed!

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

Film Doctor will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.
%d bloggers like this: