Oscars 2020 – full list of winners – Parasite bags Best Director, Best Picture

Hi Film Folk!

The Oscars 2020 are done for another year after a host-less ceremony at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles, California!

Joker, Jojo Rabbit, 1917, Parasite and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood all received numerous gongs with Parasite bagging Best Director, Best Picture, Best International Picture and Best Original Screenplay and 1917 excelling in the technical categories of Sound Mixing, Sound Editing and VFX.

Brad Pitt was finally rewarded for his work with a Best Supporting Actor award and, after four previous Academy nominations, Joaquin Phoenix, received Best Actor for Joker.  

We have enjoyed a few chats with some of this year’s nominees including Joker composer Hildur, Jojo Rabbit editor Tom and Jojo Rabbit production designer Ra – so have a read about their processes!

Here is the full list of 92nd Academy Awards winners:



Best Production Design
The Irishman – Bob Shaw, Regina Graves
Jojo Rabbit – Ra Vincent, Nora Sopkova 
1917 – Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh – WINNER!  
Parasite – Lee Ha-Jun, Cho Won Woo, Han Ga Ram, Cho Hee  

Best Sound Editing
1917 – Oliver Tarney, Rachel Tate
Joker – Alan Robert Murray
Ford v Ferrari – Don Sylvester – WINNER!
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood  – Wylie Stateman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Matthew Wood, David Acord  

Best Sound Mixing
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
1917 – Mark Taylor, Stuart Wilson – WINNER!
Ford v Ferrari
Ad Astra  

Best Costume Design
The Irishman – Sandy Powell, Christopher Peterson
Jojo Rabbit – Mayes C. Rubeo 
Joker – Mark Bridges
Little Women – Jacqueline Durran – WINNER!
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Arianne Phillips  

Best Animated Short
Hair Love – WINNER!

Best Documentary Short
In the Absence
Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone if you’re a Girl – WINNER!
Life Overtakes Me
St. Louis Superman 
Walk Run Cha-Cha  

Best Live Action Short
Nefta Football Club
The Neighbour’s Widow –
A Sister

Best Make Up & Hair
Bombshell – WINNER! 
Maleficent: Mistress of Evil

Best Original Song
Toy Story 4 – “I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” ()
Rocketman – “I’m Gonna Love Me Again” (Elton John, Bernie Taupin) – WINNER!
Breakthrough – “I’m Standing With You” () 
Frozen 2 – “Into the Unknown” ()
Harriet – “Stand Up” ()  

Best Original Score
Joker – Hildur Guonadóttir – WINNER!
Little Women – Alexandre Desplat
Marriage Story – Randy Newman
1917– Thomas Newman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – John Williams
The King – Nicholas Britell

Best Editing
Ford v Ferrari – Michael McCusker, Andrew Buckland – WINNER!
The Irishman – Thelma Schoonmaker
Jojo Rabbit – Tom Eagles
Joker – Jeff Groth 
Parasite – Jinmo Yang  

Best Cinematography
The Irishman – Rodrigo Prieto
Joker – Lawrence Sher
The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke
1917 – Roger Deakins – WINNER!
Once Upon A Time in Hollywood – Robert Richardson  

Best Original Screenplay
Knives Out – Rian Johnson
Marriage Story –
Noah Baumbach
– Sam Mendes, Krysty Wilson-Cairns
Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
– Quentin Tarantino
– Bong Joon-ho, Jim Won Han

Best Adapted Screenplay
The Irishman – Steven Zaillian
Jojo Rabbit – Taika Waititi – WINNER!
Joker –
Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
Just Mercy –
Destin Daniel Cretton, Andrew Lanham
Little Women
– Greta Gerwig
The Two Popes – Anthony McCarten

Best Documentary
American Factory – Julia Rieichert, Steven Bognar – WINNER!
The Cave
– Feras Fayyad
The Edge of Democracy
– Petra Costa
For Sama
– Waad Al-Kateab, Edward Watts
Honeyland –
Tamara Kotevska, Ljubo Stefanov

Best International Feature Film 
Corpus Christi – Jan Komasa
– Tamara Kotevska, Ljubo Stefanov
Les Miserable
– Ladj Ly
Pain and Glory
– Pedro Almodovar
– Bong Joon Ho – WINNER!


Joker (Joaquin Phoenix) performs his bathroom dance
Courtesy of Warner Bros. 2019
« of 5 »

Best Animated Film
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World – Dean DeBlois
I Lost My Body
– Jeremy Clapin
– Sergio Pablos
Missing Link
– Chris Butler
Toy Story 4
– Josh Cooley

Best Special Visual Effects
Avengers Endgame
The Irishman
1917 –
The Lion King
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker

Supporting Actor
Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood
Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes
Al Pacino – The Irishman 
Joe Pesci – The Irishman
Brad Pitt – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood – WINNER!

Supporting Actress
Kathy Bates – Richard Jewell
Laura Dern – Marriage Story – WINNER!
Scarlett Johannson – Jojo Rabbit
Florence Pugh – Little Women
Margot Robbie – Bombshell

Jojo (Roman Griffin Davis) talks with his imaginary pal version of Adolf Hitler (Taika Waititi)
Photo courtesy of Fox Searchlight
« of 3 »

Best Actor
Antonio Banderas – Pain and Glory 
Leonardo DiCaprio – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood 
Adam Driver – Marriage Story 
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker – WINNER!
Jonathan Pryce – The Two Popes  

Best Actress
Cynthia Erivo – Harriet
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story  
Saoirse Ronan – Little Women
Charlize Theron – Bombshell
Renee Zellweger – Judy – WINNER!  

Best Director
Martin Scorsese – The Irishman 
Todd Phillips – Joker 
Sam Mendes – 1917 
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood 
Bong Joon Ho – Parasite – WINNER!  

Best Picture 
Ford v Ferrari
The Irishman 
Jojo Rabbit
Little Women
Marriage Story
Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
Parasite –

Join us on FACEBOOK or TWITTER and sign up to our emails on the right hand side for articles straight to your inbox.

Any questions/thoughts/experiences of your own??? Leave a comment below!
Have a great week!
Check out our previous CASE STUDIES
Check out our SERVICES


Leave a Reply

You have successfully subscribed!

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

Film Doctor will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.
%d bloggers like this: