Oscar nominations 2020 – the full list – Joker, The Irishman and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood nominated

Hi Film Folk!

The Oscar nominations 2020 have been revealed at the Samuel Goldwyn Theatre in Beverly Hills with Joker, Jojo Rabbit, 1917, The Irishman, Parasite and Once Upon a Time in Hollywood all nominated for numerous gongs.

Todd Phillips’s DC comic origin story enjoyed nominations in 11 categories, while Scorsese’s decades-spanning political-gangster drama and Tarantino’s late-’60s cinema love-letter both received 10 nods each.

The awards ceremony will take place at the Dolby Theatre in Los Angeles, California, on Sunday February 9, just one week after the BAFTA awards.

Here is the full list of 92nd Academy Awards nominees:


Best Production Design
The Irishman – Bob Shaw, Regina Graves
Jojo Rabbit – Ra Vincent, Nora Sopkova 
1917 – Dennis Gassner, Lee Sandales
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Barbara Ling, Nancy Haigh
Parasite – Lee Ha-Jun, Cho Won Woo, Han Ga Ram, Cho Hee


Best Sound Editing
1917 – Oliver Tarney, Rachel Tate
Joker – Alan Robert Murray
Ford v Ferrari – Don Sylvester
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood  – Wylie Stateman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – Matthew Wood, David Acord


Best Sound Mixing
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood
Ford v Ferrari
Ad Astra


Best Costume Design
The Irishman – Sandy Powell, Christopher Peterson
Jojo Rabbit – Mayes C. Rubeo 
Joker – Mark Bridges
Little Women – Jacqueline Durran 
Once Upon a Time in Hollywood – Arianne Phillips


Best Animated Short
Hair Love


Best Documentary Short
In the Absence
Learning to Skateboard in a Warzone
Life Overtakes Me
St. Louis Superman 
Walk Run Cha-Cha


Best Live Action Short
Nefta Football Club
The Neighbour’s Window
A Sister


Best Make Up & Hair
Maleficent: Mistress of Evil

Best Original Song
Toy Story 4 – “I Can’t Let You Throw Yourself Away” ()
Rocketman – “I’m Gonna Love Me Again” ()
Breakthrough – “I’m Standing With You” () 
Frozen 2 – “Into the Unknown” ()
Harriet – “Stand Up” ()


Best Original Score
Joker – Hildur Guonadóttir
Little Women – Alexandre Desplat
Marriage Story – Randy Newman
1917– Thomas Newman
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker – John Williams
The King – Nicholas Britell


Best Editing
Ford v Ferrari – Michael McCusker, Andrew Buckland
The Irishman – Thelma Schoonmaker
Jojo Rabbit – Tom Eagles
Joker – Jeff Groth 
Parasite – Jinmo Yang


Best Cinematography
The Irishman – Rodrigo Prieto
Joker – Lawrence Sher
The Lighthouse – Jarin Blaschke
1917 – Roger Deakins
Once Upon A Time in Hollywood – Robert Richardson


Best Original Screenplay
Knives Out – Rian Johnson
Marriage Story –
Noah Baumbach
– Sam Mendes, Krysty Wilson-Cairns
Once Upon A Time in Hollywood
– Quentin Tarantino
– Bong Joon-ho, Jim Won Han


Best Adapted Screenplay
The Irisman – Steven Zaillian
Jojo Rabbit – Taika Waititi
Joker –
Todd Phillips, Scott Silver
Just Mercy –
Destin Daniel Cretton, Andrew Lanham
Little Women
– Greta Gerwig
The Two Popes – Anthony McCarten


Best Documentary
American Factory – Julia Rieichert, Steven Bognar
The Cave
– Feras Fayyad
The Edge of Democracy
– Petra Costa
For Sama
– Waad Al-Kateab, Edward Watts
Honeyland –
Tamara Kotevska, Ljubo Stefanov


Best International Feature Film 
Corpus Christi – Jan Komasa
– Tamara Kotevska, Ljubo Stefanov
Les Miserable
– Ladj Ly
Pain and Glory
– Pedro Almodovar
– Bong Joon Ho


Joker (Joaquin Phoenix) performs his bathroom dance
Courtesy of Warner Bros. 2019
« of 5 »


Best Animated Film
How to Train Your Dragon: The Hidden World – Dean DeBlois
I Lost My Body
– Jeremy Clapin
– Sergio Pablos
Missing Link
– Chris Butler
Toy Story 4
– Josh Cooley


Best Special Visual Effects
Avengers Endgame
The Irishman
The Lion King
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker


Supporting Actor
Tom Hanks – A Beautiful Day in the Neighbourhood
Anthony Hopkins – The Two Popes
Al Pacino – The Irishman
Joe Pesci – The Irishman
Brad Pitt – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood


Supporting Actress
Kathy Bates – Richard Jewell
Laura Dern – Marriage Story
Scarlett Johannson – Jojo Rabbit
Florence Pugh – Little Women
Margot Robbie – Bombshell

Jojo (Roman Griffin Davis) talks with his imaginary pal version of Adolf Hitler (Taika Waititi)
Photo courtesy of Fox Searchlight
« of 3 »


Best Actor
Antonio Banderas – Pain and Glory 
Leonardo DiCaprio – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood 
Adam Driver – Marriage Story 
Joaquin Phoenix – Joker
Jonathan Pryce – The Two Popes


Best Actress
Cynthia Erivo – Hrriet
Scarlett Johansson – Marriage Story  
Saoirse Ronan – Little Women
Charlize Theron – Bombshell
Renee Zellweger – Judy


Best Director
Martin Scorsese – The Irishman 
Todd Phillips – Joker 
Sam Mendes – 1917 
Quentin Tarantino – Once Upon A Time in Hollywood 
Bong Joon Ho – Parasite


Best Picture 
Ford v Ferrari
The Irishman 
 Jojo Rabbit
Little Women
Marriage Story
Once Upon A Time in Hollywood


Join us on FACEBOOK or TWITTER and sign up to our emails on the right hand side for articles straight to your inbox.

Any questions/thoughts/experiences of your own??? Leave a comment below!
Have a great week!
Check out our previous CASE STUDIES
Check out our SERVICES


Leave a Reply

You have successfully subscribed!

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

Film Doctor will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.
%d bloggers like this: