BAFTA nominations 2018 – the full list

Hi Film Folk!

The BAFTA nominations 2018 have been revealed – as well as Absolutely Fabulous star Joanna Lumley announced as the new presenter, replacing Stephen Fry.  

Here is the full list of nominees:


Best Production Design
Beauty and the Beast – Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
Blade Runner 2049 – Dennis Gassner, Alessandra Querzola
Darkest Hour – Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
Dunkirk – Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis
The Shape of Water – Paul Asterberry, Jeff Melvin, Shane Vieau

Best Costume Design
Beauty and the Beast – Jacqueline Durran
Darkest Hour – Jacqueline Durran
I, Tonya – Jennifer Johnson
Phantom Thread – Mark Bridges
The Shape of Water – Luis Sequeira

Best Cinematography
Blade Runner 2049 – Roger Deakins
Darkest Hour – Bruno Delbonnel
Dunkirk – Hoyte van Hoytema
The Shape of Water – Dan Lausten
Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri – Ben Davis

Best Original Music
Blade Runner 2049 – Benjamin Wallfisch, Hans Zimmer
Darkest Hour – Dario Marianelli
Dunkirk – Hans Zimmer
Phantom Thread – Jonny Greenwood
The Shape of Water – Alexandre Desplat

Best Animated Film
Loving Vincent
My Life as a Courgette 

Best Documentary
City of Ghosts
I Am Not Your Negro
An Inconvenient Sequel

Outstanding Debut by a British Writer, Director or Producer
The Ghoul – Gareth Tunley, Jack Healy Guttman, Tom Meeten
I Am Not a Witch – Rungano Nyoni, Emily Morgan
Jawbone – Johnny Harris, Thomas Napper
Kingdom of Us – Lucy Cohen
Lady Macbeth – Alice Birch, William Oldroyd, Fodhla Cronin O’ Reilly

Best Film
Call Me By Your Name
Darkest Hour
Shape of Water 
Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri

Arthur Fleck (Joaquin Phoenix) suffers on the bus
Photo by Niko Tavernise – courtesy of Warner Bros. 2019
« of 5 »




Best British Film
Darkest Hour
Death of Stalin
God’s Own Country
Lady Macbeth
Paddington 2 
Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri 

Best Actor
Daniel Day-Lewis – Phantom Thread
Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out
Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour
Jamie Bell – Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool
Timothée Chalamet – Call Me By Your Name

Best Actress
Annette Bening – Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool
Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri  
Margot Robbie – I, Tonya
Sally Hawkins – The Shape of Water
Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird

Best Director
Denis Villeneuve – Blade Runner 2049
Luca Guadagnino – Call Me By Your Name
Christopher Nolan – Dunkirk
Guillermo del Toro – The Shape of Water
Martin McDonagh – Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri

Blade Runner 2049
Photo courtesy of Warner Bros. Entertainment
« of 8 »

Best Original Screenplay
Get Out – Jordan Peele
I, Tonya – Steven Rogers
Lady Bird – Greta Gerwig
The Shape of Water – Guillermo del Toro, Vanessa Taylor 
Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri – Martin McDonagh

Best Adapted Screenplay
Call Me By Your Name – James Ivory
The Death of Stalin – Armando Iannucci, Ian Martin, David Schneider
Film Stars Don’t Die in Liverpool – Matt Greehalgh
Molly’s Game – Aaron Sorkin
Paddington 2 – Simon Farnaby, Paul Kind

Supporting Actor
Christopher Plummer – All the Money in the World
Hugh Grant – Paddington 2
Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri  
Willem Dafoe – The Florida Project
Woody Harrelson – Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri  

Supporting Actress

Allison Janney – I, Tonya
Kristin Scott Thomas – Darkest Hour
Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird
Lesley Manville – Phantom Thread
Octavia Spencer – The Shape of Water

Dunkirk movie directed by Christopher Nolan
Photo by Melinda Sue Gordon Copyright: © 2016 Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc., Ratpac-Dune Entertainment LLC and Ratpac Entertainment, LLC
« of 16 »

Best Film Not in the English Language
First They Killed My Father
The Handmaiden
The Salesman

Best Editing
Baby Driver – Jonathan Amos, Paul Machliss
Blade Runner 2049 – Joe Walker
Dunkirk – Lee Smith
The Shape of Water – Sidney Wolinsky 
Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri – Jon Gregory

Best Make Up & Hair
Blade Runner 2049 – Donald Mowat, Kerry Warn
Darkest Hour – David Malinowski, Ivana Primorac, Lucy Sibbick, Kazuhiro Tsuji
I, Tonya – Deborah La Mia Denaver, Adruitha Lee
Victoria & Abdul – Daniel Phillips
Wonder – Naomi Bakstad, Robert A. Pandini, Arjen Tuiten

Best Sound
Baby Driver – Tim Cavagin, Mary H. Ellis, Julian Slater
Blade Runner 2049 – Ron Bartlett, Dough Hemphill, Mark Mangini, Mac Ruth, Theo Green. 
Dunkirk – Richard King, Gregg Landaker, Gary A. Rizzo, Mark Weingarten
The Shape of Water – Christian Cooke, Glen Gauthier, Nathan Robitaille, Brad Zoern
Star Wars: The Last Jedi – Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick, Stuart Wilson, Matthew Wood

Best Special Visual Effects
Blade Runner 2049 – Gerd Nefzer, John Nelson
Dunkirk – Scott Fisher, Andrew Jackson
The Shape of Water – Dennis Berardi, Trey Harrell, Kevin Scott
Star Wars: The Last Jedi
War for the Planet of the Apes

Blade Runner 2049
Photo courtesy of Warner Bros. Entertainment
« of 8 »

Best British Short Animation
Have Heart – Will Anderson
Mamoon – Ben Steer
Poles Apart – Paloma Baeza, Ser En Low

Best British Short Film
Aamir – Viva Evdokimenko, Emma Stone, Oliver Shuster
Cowboy Dave – Colin O’Toole, Jonas Mortensen
A Drowning Man – Mahdi Fleifel, Signe Byrge Sorensen, Patrick Campbell
Work – Aneil Karia, Scott O’Donnell
Wren Boys – Harry Lighton, Sorcha Bacon, John Fitzpatrick



Join us on FACEBOOK or TWITTER and sign up to our emails on the right hand side for articles straight to your inbox.

Any questions/thoughts/experiences of your own??? Leave a comment below!
Have a great week!
Check out our previous CASE STUDIES
Check out our SERVICES


Leave a Reply

You have successfully subscribed!

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

Film Doctor will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.
%d bloggers like this: