Oscars 2018 winners – the full list – The Shape of Water wins Best Picture

Hi Film Folk!

The 90th Annual Academy Awards winners were announced at the Dolby Theatre tonight (Sunday 4) – with Get OutThree Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri and The Shape of Water all winning top awards.  

Here is the full list of Oscars 2018 winners:


Best Production Design
Beauty and the Beast – Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
Blade Runner 2049 – Dennis Gassner, Alessandra Querzola
Darkest Hour – Sarah Greenwood, Katie Spencer
Dunkirk – Nathan Crowley, Gary Fettis 
The Shape of Water – Paul Asterberry, Jeff Melvin, Shane Vieau – WINNER!

Best Sound Editing
Baby Driver – Julian Slater
Blade Runner 2049 – Mark Mangini, Theo Green
Dunkirk – Richard King, Alex Gibson – WINNER!
The Shape of Water – Nelson Ferreira, Nathan Robitaille 
Star Wars: The Last Jedi – Ren Klyce, Matthew Wood


Best Sound Mixing
Baby Driver – Julian Slater, Tim Cavagin, Mary H Ellis 
Blade Runner 2049 – Ron Bartlett, Doug Hemphill, Mac Ruth
Dunkirk – Mark Weingarten, Gregg Landaker, Gary A Rizzo – WINNER!
The Shape of Water – Christian Cooke, Brad Zoern, Glen Gauthier
Star Wars: The Last Jedi – Ren Klyce, David Parker, Michael Semanick, Stuart Wilson


Best Costume Design
Beauty and the Beast – Jacqueline Durran
Darkest Hour – Jacqueline Durran
Victoria & Abdul – Consolata Boyle 
Phantom Thread – Mark Bridges – WINNER!
The Shape of Water – Luis Sequeira


Best Animated Short
Dear Basketball – WINNER!
Negative Space
Garden Party
Revolting Rhymes


Best Documentary Short
Edith + Eddie
Heaven is a Traffic Jam on the 405 – WINNER!
Knife Skills
Traffic Shop


Best Live Action Short
DeKalb Elementary
The Eleven O’clock
The Silent Child 
Watu Wote: All of Us
My Nephew Emmett


Best Make Up & Hair
Darkest Hour – David Malinowski, Ivana Primorac, Lucy Sibbick, Kazuhiro Tsuji – WINNER!
Victoria & Abdul – Daniel Phillips
Wonder – Arjen Tuiten

Best Original Song
Mudbound – “Mighty River”
Call Me By Your Name – “Mystery of Love”
Coco – “Remember Me” – WINNER!
Marshall – “Stand Up for Something”
The Greatest Showman – “This is Us”


Best Original Score
Star Wars: The Last Jedi – John Williams
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri – Carter Burwell
Dunkirk – Hans Zimmer
Phantom Thread – Jonny Greenwood
The Shape of Water – Alexandre Desplat – WINNER!


Best Editing
Baby Driver – Jonathan Amos, Paul Machliss
I, Tonya – Tatiana S Riegel
Dunkirk – Lee Smith – WINNER!
The Shape of Water – Sidney Wolinsky 
Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri – Jon Gregory


Best Cinematography
Blade Runner 2049 – Roger Deakins– WINNER!
Darkest Hour – Bruno Delbonnel
Dunkirk – Hoyte van Hoytema
The Shape of Water – Dan Lausten
Mudbound – Rachel Morrison


Best Original Screenplay
The Big Sick – written by Emily V Gordon & Kumail Nanjiani
Get Out –
written by Jordan Peele – WINNER!
Lady Bird
– written by Greta Gerwig
The Shape of Water
– screenplay by Guillermo del Toro & Vanessa Taylor; story by Guillermo del Toro
Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri
– written by Martin McDonagh


Best Adapted Screenplay
Call Me By Your Name – James Ivory  – WINNER!
The Disaster Artist – screenplay by Scott Neustadter & Michael H Weber
Logan –
screenplay by Scott Frank & James Mangold and Michael Green; story by James Mangold
Molly’s Game –
written for the screen by Aaron Sorkin
– screenplay by Virgil Williams and Dee Rees


Best Documentary
Abacus: Small Enough to Jail

Last Man in Aleppo
Strong Island


Best Film Not in the English Language
A Fantastic Woman (Chile) – WINNER!
The Insult (Lebanon)
Loveless (Russia)
On Body and Soul (Hungary)
The Square (Sweden)


Joker (Joaquin Phoenix) performs his bathroom dance
Courtesy of Warner Bros. 2019
« of 5 »































Best Animated Film
The Boss Baby
The Breadwinner
Loving Vincent


Best Special Visual Effects
Blade Runner 2049 – WINNER!
Guardians of the Galaxy: Vol. 2
Kong: Skull Island
War for the Planet of the Apes
Star Wars: The Last Jedi


Supporting Actor
Christopher Plummer – All the Money in the World
Richard Jenkins – The Shape of Water
Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri  – WINNER!
Willem Dafoe – The Florida Project
Woody Harrelson – Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri  


Supporting Actress
Allison Janney – I, Tonya – WINNER!
Mary J Blige – Mudbound 
Laurie Metcalf – Lady Bird
Lesley Manville – Phantom Thread
Octavia Spencer – The Shape of Water

Dunkirk movie directed by Christopher Nolan
Photo by Melinda Sue Gordon Copyright: © 2016 Warner Bros. Entertainment Inc., Ratpac-Dune Entertainment LLC and Ratpac Entertainment, LLC
« of 16 »


Best Actor
Daniel Day-Lewis – Phantom Thread
Daniel Kaluuya – Get Out
Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour – WINNER! 
Denzel Washington – Roman J.Israel, Esq
Timothée Chalamet – Call Me By Your Name


Best Actress
Meryl Streep – The Post
Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri  – WINNER!
Margot Robbie – I, Tonya
Sally Hawkins – The Shape of Water
Saoirse Ronan – Lady Bird


Best Director
Greta Gerwig – Lady Bird
Jordan Peele – Get Out 
Christopher Nolan – Dunkirk
Guillermo del Toro – The Shape of Water  – WINNER!
Paul Thomas Anderson – Phantom Thread


Best Film
Call Me By Your Name
Darkest Hour
Lady Bird
Get Out
The Post
Phantom Thread
The Shape of Water – WINNER!
Three Billboards Outside of Ebbing, Missouri



Join us on FACEBOOK or TWITTER and sign up to our emails on the right hand side for articles straight to your inbox.

Any questions/thoughts/experiences of your own??? Leave a comment below!
Have a great week!
Check out our previous CASE STUDIES
Check out our SERVICES


Leave a Reply

You have successfully subscribed!

There was an error while trying to send your request. Please try again.

Film Doctor will use the information you provide on this form to be in touch with you and to provide updates and marketing.
%d bloggers like this: